Questioning Authenticity.

May 23, 2011

I remember when I first started getting to know God. I remember being so intrigued by His Word and drawn to His presence. I remember locking my door and getting settled with my journal and all kinds of colorful pens. I remember pacing my bedroom back an forth talking to my Creator, hoping no one would come knocking at my door to interrupt our time together. My love for Him was never a secret but my time with Him always was…because of these verses that I had found:

“And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by others. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full. But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.” -Matthew 6:5-6

Nowadays I wonder if God has a Facebook or Twitter account.

Where has the intimacy in prayer gone?

“Go into your room, close the door.” These days, the process of getting alone takes more than just closing a door. Close your computer. Turn off your phone. Make yourself unseen to the world to get in the presence of your mighty Father who is unseen. Then He who sees what is done in secret, will reward you. I believe the reward is bigger than recognition. It is bigger than getting a ‘Like’ on your status. It is His presence.

May we do more than send God a tweet. May we do more than talk to him through our latest status update. It will be pushed down the news feed soon enough by everyone’s personal latest and greatest news. Get alone with Him and hear His whispers to you.

Disclaimer:

“What I tell you in the dark, speak in the daylight; what is whispered in your ear, proclaim from the roofs.” -Matthew 10:27

I am all for proclaiming God’s good news. There is a difference between proclaiming and praying. Talk to God in the dark, speak of his promises in the day. Listen to what is whispered, shout out what has been spoken. Talking and listening ought to be in the intimacy of a private relationship. Shouting and proclaiming can be for the whole world and web to see.

His secrets are revealed in the secret places. As a result it will be our lifestyle, not our public prayers, that will be our cries to the nations- declaring that God is real. Intimacy creates authenticity.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Questioning Authenticity.

  1. Everytime Lyn, everytime! You challenge me and make me better and encourage me all at the same time. Please keep writing!

Leave a Reply

