Judgment Day?

May 21, 2011

Today, Harold Camping is predicting the end of the world, starting at 6pm. globally. Seeing as how 6pm. has already passed in New Zealand and Europe, it is safe to say his predicition is wrong.

Kirk Franklin tweets: “Still here. Must mean we got more work to do.” Others have mentioned, “what if today was the last day? who would you want to know about Jesus?”

Today I am grateful to still be here. Although I would desire nothing more than to stand in the presence of the Almighty God, I do want more time to see the people I love come to know their Creator.

Erwin McManus once talked about the ability that we as humans have to envision the future; to see something that doesn’t exist: tomorrow. -This must mean God has still planted a tomorrow.

This whole debate of judgment day has encouraged ma to live more intentionally. Thank you Mr. Camping.

I don’t think Harold Camping is hearing a lot of ‘thank you’s today. Many are demanding an apology. He has been given the title of a false prophet and I am also hearing that this prediction was a simple scam to get more money for Camping’s christian radio station called, Family Radio. While all of these are valid statements, I think that maybe Camping just has an eager heart to see the Lord’s return, seeing as how he has predicted Judgment Day back in September of 1994 also. I don’t blame him, he’s been around for a while. I hope to see the Lord return during my lifetime too.

In any way, I don’t believe we should be ignorant about the end of the world. Saying that God will not come back today is just as bad as predicting that he actually is.

“But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.” -Mark 13:32

“for you know very well that the day of the Lord will come like a thief in the night.” -1 Thessalonians 5:2

The Bible also says in Matthew 24:42-44  “Therefore keep watch, because you do not know on what day your Lord will come. But understand this: If the owner of the house had known at what time of night the thief was coming, he would have kept watch and would not have let his house be broken into. So you also must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when you do not expect him.”

Be ready. May today encourage you to spend time in your Word each day. As the body of Christ, may we be waiting for our Lord’s return. I pray to not be like the apostles who fell asleep while Jesus went to go pray on the mountain top. I pray I will always be ready for my Lord’s return. I pray that I would not take a day on this earth for granted. I pray I become intentional about showing the world who my God is.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Judgment Day?

Leave a Reply

